print this page

Kathleen McGraw, MD, FHM, Earns Fellow in Hospital Medicine Designation

June 01, 2010

Kathleen McGraw, MD, FHM, of Montague, a Baystate Franklin Medical Center hospitalist, is among nearly 200 hospitalists nationwide who have earned the Fellow in Hospital Medicine (FHM) designation in 2010 from the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM).

Dr. McGraw joined the Baystate Franklin Medical Center medical staff as its first hospitalist in 2004. As the medical director of BFMC’s Hospitalist Program, Dr. McGraw has been instrumental in expanding the hospitalist program at BFMC to its present status, in which a team of hospitalists care for patients 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  A graduate of the University of Minnesota, she completed her Master’s of Science degree at the University of Massaschusetts, Amherst.  She was co-founder of the Community Health Center in Turners Falls, and served as the founding President of the Board.  She received her medical degree from the University of Massachusetts Medical School in Worcester, and completed her residency in Internal Medicine at Baystate Medical Center.

Hospitalists are experts in the diagnosis and treatment of seriously ill patients.  Because they are based in the hospital, they can respond quickly to patients’ needs as they arise.  They provide hospital coverage for several primary care practices in the area, enabling the primary care physicians to focus greater time and attention on their outpatient practices.

Now in its second year, the FHM credential is a key component in professional development for hospitalists. To be designated as a Fellow in Hospital Medicine, an applicant must meet a set of diverse criteria, including being a hospitalist for five years, demonstrating dedication to quality and process improvement; illustrating commitment to organizational teamwork and leadership, and active engagement in lifelong learning and education.

“As a part of rapidly expanding medical specialty, the best hospitalists in the country are using the FHM designation to better distinguish their expertise and commitment to hospital medicine,” said SHM’s CEO, Larry Wellikson, MD, SFHM. “We hope that hospitals and communities will join us in congratulating these individuals in their achievement and their service to improving patient care in the hospital.”