print this page

PGY-1 and PGY-2 Pharmacy Residencies Both Accredited for Maximum 6 Year Period

June 01, 2014

In March 2014, both the PGY-1 Pharmacy Residency and the PGY-2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency were accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Commission on Credentialing for the maximum 6 year period—until 2020.

This was the initial accreditation for the PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency which was reviewed in its inaugural year. As of June 2014, the program will have graduated 2 residents. Adam Presaturo, PharmD is the Program Director.

The 7-year-old PGY-1 Pharmacy Residency will have 23 graduates by June 2014. This is the first time the program has received the maximum accreditation period. The Program Director is Kathleen Kopcza, PharmD.

During this ASHP accreditation cycle, less than 20% of 276 programs reviewed were granted six years. The pharmacy department’s investigational drug services program was noted by ASHP Surveyors to be an area of strength.