print this page

2014 Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award Goes to Baystate's Lewis Cohen MD

July 01, 2014

Dr. Lewis CohenDr. Lewis Cohen, Psychiatric Consultation Service, was selected to receive the prestigious 2014 Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award—the highest honor bestowed annually by the Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine (APM). The award recognizes distinctive achievements in Consultation-Liaison/Psychosomatic Medicine training, research, clinical practice, and leadership.

Dr. Cohen, Professor of Psychiatry, Tufts University School of Medicine, has written numerous journal articles on dialysis, palliative care, and end-of-life issues. He is the recipient of numerous awards and recognitions, including a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Tufts University School of Medicine Distinguished Faculty Award.

The Hackett Award was established in 1988 to honor Dr. Thomas P. Hackett, Jr., professor and chief of the Department of Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital.